
Skyhawk Errata 

Counters 

The single Mk 81 500 pound Snake Eyes should read Mk 82. The US Support markers 

representing the Intruder should read EA-6, not F-6 as printed. Note that when the EA-6 is used 

in the ECM role it is a “Growler”, in an attack roll it is an “A-6 Intruder”. Several of the 

Suppressed Markers should have been labeled Knocked Out. For now, use the backside of any 

unused counter to note Knocked Out NV Defense Boxes. 

A temporary fix for the counters has been posted here: Steven K Dixon - Rolling Thunder - 

Skyhawk: 1966 

20/2/23 

Table 9 Layout is a bit misleading. This is how it should read. 

Table 9 - Aerial Refueling Box - 1D10 
 

Roll Event 
0 Incident Occurs (See Note A) 
1-9 Successful refueling - Continue with the mission 

 
Die Roll Modifiers (cumulative) for roll on Table 9: 
-2 if the weather is Bad at the target  
-1 if the weather is Poor at the target  
-1 if both Fuel Sub-System damage boxes are checked off on the Skyhawk Mission Record Card.  
If using Optional Damage Rule 15.4, then  
-1 if one box is checked off.  
-1 if the pilot is Green.  
+1 if the pilot is a Veteran. 

 
In the campaign games only the Skyhawk that "fails" a fuel roll has to turn back. You could continue the 
mission with the "other 3 Skyhawks" or you could send his section partner back with him. If it is the 
player’s Skyhawk that fails the roll, then the player will have to adjust some of the other procedures if 
he wants to continue the mission with the "other 3 Skyhawks" (See 14.0.4).  

 
Note A 
A) Roll 1D10:  
≤0 to 7 Problem corrected, Skyhawk can transfer fuel.  
8 Skyhawk unable to transfer fuel. Move the Skyhawk directly to the Transit to Carrier box and complete 
the sequence of play from that point to landing on the carrier (See Rule 6.5 & 6.6).  
9+ Skyhawk collides with the tanker. Skyhawk Lost. Roll 1D10 (no die roll modifiers): 0-5 - pilot 
has to bail out. (See Rule 12) 6-9 - Pilot killed. (Tanker OK & can continue to refuel in Campaign 
Game). Game is over in the single mission game. 

https://www.stevenkdixon.com/skyhawk.htm
https://www.stevenkdixon.com/skyhawk.htm


 

16/1/23 

Table 22.1 – On Table 22.1, columns 21-40, 41-80, 81-100 are incorrect. They should read 101-

200 | 201-350 | 351-450+. The 50 – 100 column is correct. 

15/1/23 

Rule book: The letter “D” was left off at the beginning of the first paragraph on page 32, top of 

right column. It should read “Determine” not “etermine”. 

10/1/23 

On the Ordnance Card, “or” should follow 1 Mk. 83 under Left Inboard and Right Inboard. 

Clarification: A station may not carry multiple types of ordnance – only one type.  

3/1/23 

Clarification: Q: The option to expend an external fuel tank to avoid a Table 7 Fuel Check appears to 
have been dropped from both Table 7 and the rules. Was this intentional? 
A: During playtesting, we indicated in that first round playtesting group that Skyhawk was to be a 
simpler game to play, and the complexity was to be less than say Target for Today. That was our goal. 
Many of the procedures and processes were streamlined to accomplish that goal after the initial 
playtesting. Later on, some things were intentionally removed from the playtest rules that seemed to 
add to the game's complexity. The option to "expend a fuel tank to avoid a table roll" was one of things 
removed to decrease complexity. 

 

2/1/23 

Clarification: Q: Note-A of Table 7 (Fuel Check - 1D10) states “The 10 ≥ die roll row REQUIRES a die roll 

modifier of +1 or greater to get ‘Bingo Fuel’” ... but doesn't this row only occur with such a die roll 

modifier since a 1D10 die roll of 0 = zero and not ten? Thus, unless I'm mistaken, Note-A is superfluous. 

A: It was put in intentionally. When rolling a 1D10 have the numbers go from 1 - 10, with "0" 

representing "10". In Skyhawk the tables generally run from zero "0" to nine "9" and it is easy to forget 

that zero "0" does not mean ten "10" in Skyhawk. Hence, the note. Better to have an explanation than 

no explanation since it would generate more questions to have a "0" row and a "10" row with no 

explanation in the same table. Many would ask why there was a zero value and a ten value in the same 

table? Overkill? Maybe, but that was why it was added. It is just a reminder and explains "what to do to 

get to the "10" row". 

Tables: Table 13 title should reference 6.2.3 Special Mission Types - SAM Suppression, not 6.2.1 

26/12/22 



Q: If I take two or four LAU/3 rocket pods I get no benefit in the attack for the extra 2 pods. Is 
that correct? 
A: Yes. 
 


